Inspection and permit information
Use this checklist to prepare for your inspection.
Use these monitoring log sheets and keep them for at least three years:
Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act
- Read more about the Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act (P&SS Act).
- Use the verification form to make sure you're in compliance.
Report all injuries or illnesses to the health department within 48 hours. Email completed forms to firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Use the injury report form to report deaths, near drownings, or serious injuries.
- Use the illness report form to report communicable diseases associated with your facility.
Pools and spas need an annual permit unless properly removed.
Pool and spa safety signs
To prevent injuries, post rules where they are easy to see. Add pictures and symbols for easy understanding.
Create your own pool and spa safety signs.
Make sure your first-aid kit is properly stocked with this supplies list.
Have a contamination episode?
Use these fecal incident response guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to properly treat your pool.
Single main drain guidance
If you still have a single main drain, use the single main drain guidelines to make sure you follow state and federal requirements.
Closed for the season?
Pools or spas that won’t open this year need an Inactive Pool/Spa Permit. The fee is $165 a year for each inactive pool or spa. Call (253) 798-4430 or email email@example.com to change your permit.
Permit fees cover the cost of inspections to make sure pools and spas are secure to prevent drowning.
Email firstname.lastname@example.org or call (253) 798-4430, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
- Fee schedule.
- Washington regulations for water recreation facilities—Review regulations before you design your facility or submit your Water Recreation Facility Plan Review application.