News

Media Contact Information

Health Department Closed January 4 for First Furlough Day of 2010

December 30, 2009

Tacoma-Pierce County, WA ? Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department will be closed on Monday, January 4, 2010, the first of thirteen planned "furlough days." On a furlough day, the agency closes and staff take leave without pay. A budget shortfall resulted in the need for several furlough days in 2010.

"Deciding to close the Department thirteen days in 2010 was not easy," said Anthony Chen, MD, MPH, Director of Health. "We worked to balance providing services to the public against continuing loss of funds. We apologize for problems closure creates but also acknowledge that this financial sacrifice by staff will allow us to continue to provide key services such as disease control, environmental protection, and health improvement."

2010 Furlough Dates include:

  • Monday, January 4, 2010
  • Friday, January 15, 2010
  • Friday, February 12, 2010
  • Friday, March 12, 2010
  • Monday, April 12, 2010
  • Friday, May 28, 2010
  • Friday, June 18, 2010
  • Friday, July 2, 2010
  • Monday, August 16, 2010
  • Tuesday, September 7, 2010
  • Monday, October 11, 2010
  • Friday, November 12, 2010
  • Monday, December 6, 2010

The Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department faced a $2.2 million shortfall in 2010, from increased costs, decreased revenues, and shrinking reserves. Half of that loss will be gained by the furlough days, many of which are combined with other holidays to cut costs in heating, lights, and equipment.

« Back to Headlines